Item added to your cart.

Jump for Joy
Hiss Golden Messenger
Merge Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 25, 2023
  • Vinyl 1×LP, Limited Coloured


    Translucent Orange & Black Swirl

    Read More


    • Gatefold jacket
    • Dust sleeve with printed lyrics
    • 22.75" x 30” color newsprint poster inside package
    • Includes digital download card
  • CD

    Read More


    • 4-panel wallet
    • 16-page full-color lyric booklet

The songs that make up Jump for Joy—the sharpest and most autobiographical that M.C. Taylor has written under the Hiss Golden Messenger name—read as a sort of epistolary, postcards between the present-day songwriter and his alias Michael Crow, a teenaged dreamer very much like Taylor himself, who trips his way through the 14 tunes that make up the record. In this way, Jump for Joy is a meditation on a life lived with art, and the ways that our hopes and dreams and decisions bump up against—and, with a little bit of luck, occasionally merge with—real life.

Produced by Taylor and engineered by longtime Hiss compatriot Scott Hirsch over two weeks in the late fall of 2022 at the fabled Sonic Ranch studio in Tornillo, Texas, just a short walk from the Mexican border, Jump for Joy dances with joyful, spontaneous energy that feels like a fresh chapter in the Hiss Golden Messenger oeuvre. Taylor is accompanied throughout the album by his crack live band: guitarist Chris Boerner, bassist Alex Bingham, keyboardist Sam Fribush, and drummer Nick Falk, a collection of musicians that have helped make Hiss Golden Messenger’s live performances legendary affairs.

Track List

  1. 20 Years and a Nickel
  2. Alice
  3. I Saw the New Day in the World
  4. Shinbone
  5. Little Pink Church
  6. Jesus Is Bored
  7. Nu-Grape
  8. Feeling Eternal
  9. Jump for Joy
  10. The Wondering
  11. Palo Santo/Cloud Mesa
  12. California King
  13. My Old Friends
  14. Sunset on the Faders

Hiss Golden Messenger

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences