Item added to your cart.

Hallelujah Anyhow
Hiss Golden Messenger
Merge Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 22, 2017

Included in:

  • Uproxx's Best Albums of 2017 (#20)
  • Rolling Stone's Best Country and Americana Albums of 2017 (#32)
  • Aquarium Drunkard's 2017 Year in Review
  • The Bluegrass Situation's Class of 2017: Albums

The ten songs on Hallelujah Anyhow, penned by Hiss Golden Messenger principal M.C. Taylor, were recorded with Brad Cook, Phil Cook, Chris Boerner, Josh Kaufman, Darren Jessee, Michael Lewis, and Scott Hirsch. Alexandra Sauser-Monnig, Tift Merritt, Skylar Gudasz, Tamisha Waden, Mac McCaughan, and John Paul White provided vocal harmonies.

“I see the dark clouds. I was designed to see them. They’re the same clouds of fear and destruction that have darkened the world since Revelations, just different actors. But this music is for hope. That’s the only thing I want to say about it. Love is the only way out. I’ve never been afraid of the darkness; it’s just a different kind of light. And if some days that belief comes harder than others, hallelujah anyhow.” —M.C. Taylor


  1. Lost Out in the Darkness
  2. I Am the Song
  3. Jaw
  4. Harder Rain
  5. Gulfport You’ve Been on My Mind
  6. Domino (Time Will Tell)
  7. John the Gun
  8. When the Wall Comes Down
  9. Caledonia, My Love
  10. Jenny of the Roses

Hiss Golden Messenger

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences