Item added to your cart.

Various Artists - You Wish: A Merge Records Holiday Album (LP)
Various Artists
Merge Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 22, 2019

To usher in the 2019 holiday season and cap off a fantastic 30th year as a label, we released You Wish: A Merge Records Holiday Album featuring both original music and covers of traditional songs by 15 Merge artists, all newly recorded for this compilation.

Not surprisingly, the sonic spectrum on You Wish is diverse. William Tyler delivers a gentle instrumental cover of Big Star's "Jesus Christ", but not before Mike Krol launches into "Won't Be Alone Tonight", a self-described "fast Christmas rocker about love and happiness." The Telekinesis-penned "Christmas Time Is Here (Uh Oh)" almost appeared on a Cheap Trick holiday album, but Michael Lerner made the song his own for our record.

The lyrical subject matter swings just as wide: Mac McCaughan & Annie Hayden yearn for snow on "Down We Go (Sledding Song)", while The Essex Green crave warmer climes on the winking "Green Christmas". Lucinda Williams' voice remains as singular as ever, joining Hiss Golden Messenger's M.C. Taylor for a heartbreaking rendition of the John Prine classic "Christmas in Prison". Mikal Cronin's song is inspired by his childhood experience of starring in a present-stealing, Santa-drugging Christmas musical (those exist?). Sure, You Wish may seem contradictory at times, but it's also a reflection of the season and the mix of emotions that come with it.

All physical formats include a digital download.


  1. Keep Your Christmas - Coco Hames
  2. Green Christmas - The Essex Green
  3. Won't Be Alone Tonight - Mike Krol
  4. Down We Go (Sledding Song) - Various Artists
  5. Baby in the Hay - Fruit Bats
  6. White Christmas - Apex Manor
  7. Jesus Christ - William Tyler
  8. Christmas in Prison - Various Artists
  9. I Was Made for Losing You - Eric Bachmann
  10. Christmas Time Is Here (Uh Oh) - Telekinesis
  11. Christmastime Heist - Mikal Cronin
  12. Love Asked Me to Stay - Will Butler
  13. Santa, Don't Say No - Tracyanne & Danny
  14. Blue Christmas - Shout Out Louds
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences