Item added to your cart.

Out in the Storm
Merge Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 14, 2017
  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Read More



    • 12" × 24" poster insert with a portrait of Katie Crutchfield on one side and full lyrics on the other
    • uncoated stock jacket with silver foil details
    • full download
  • CD

    Read More


    • 12-page booklet with full lyrics and photos
    • uncoated stock digipak with silver foil details

Included in:

  • Magnet’s Album of the Year (December 2017 issue)
  • Rolling Stone’s Best Albums of 2017 (#14)
  • NPR’s Best Albums of 2017 (#41)
  • NY Times’ Best Songs of 2017 (“Never Been Wrong”)
  • USA Today’s Favorite Albums of 2017
  • Stereogum’s Best Albums of 2017 (#8)
  • The AV Club’s Best Albums of 2017 (#10)
  • Pitchfork’s Best Rock Albums of 2017 (#13)
  • Billboard's Best Rock Albums of 2017 (#13)
  • Paste's Best Albums of 2017 (#18)
  • Variety's Best Albums of 2017
  • NY Daily News’ Best Albums of 2017 (#15)
  • Bandcamp's Best Albums of 2017 (#31)
  • The Ringer’s Best Songs of 2017 (#6, “Never Been Wrong”)

Out in the Storm, Katie Crutchfield’s fourth album as Waxahatchee and the follow-up to her Merge debut Ivy Tripp, is the blazing result of a woman reawakened. Her most autobiographical and honest album to date, Out in the Storm is a self-reflective anchor in the story of both her songwriting and her life.

The album was tracked at Miner Street Recordings in Philadelphia with John Agnello, a producer, recording engineer, and mixer known for working with some of the most iconic musicians of the last 25 years, including Dinosaur Jr. and Sonic Youth. Agnello and Crutchfield worked together for most of December 2016, along with the band: sister Allison Crutchfield on keyboards and percussion, Katherine Simonetti on bass, and Ashley Arnwine on drums; Katie Harkin, touring guitarist with Sleater-Kinney, also contributed lead guitar. At Agnello’s suggestion, the group recorded most of the music live to enhance their unity in a way that gives the album a fuller sound compared to past releases, resulting in one of Waxahatchee’s most guitar-driven releases to date.

All physical formats include a download.


  1. Never Been Wrong
  2. 8 Ball
  3. Silver
  4. Recite Remorse
  5. Sparks Fly
  6. Brass Beam
  7. Hear You
  8. A Little More
  9. No Question
  10. Fade


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences